with the rise of ebooks, comes the decline in paper books. some people see this as a good step forward while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend

Gone are the days, when we use electronic devices for entertainment purposes only. Nowadays most of the educational work and official work is done electronically in the form of ebooks and emails. some people believes it is not a good step while other defend the drawbacks by accepting its positive impacts. In this essay I will examine various advantages and disadvantages of paper books being replaced by electronic books.

The primary advantage of e-books is that it saves paper thus saves the environment. Many trees are cut down just to form a bundle of pages for a book. If paper books are replaced by ebooks, cutting of trees could be reduced to a significant level. Another positive aspect of ebooks is that they are handy and easy to carry as compared to paper books. It is quite common to see people reading ebooks in metro and buses while travelling, which could be difficult with paper books. It is easy to carry them in contrast to paper books, which are heavy and need sufficient space in your bag.

However, paper books being transformed to electronic books has certain disadvantages as well. The major disadvantage is that when we opt for electronic books over printed book, our screen time increases rationally. We often use electronic devices for entertainment and other official works and if we use if for reading books as well, it would not be a wise decision. Another significant disadvantage of promoting ebooks is that many people would struggle for their jobs like a book seller or a publisher. In addition to this, people who are not computer savvy would not be able to continue their passion of writing books.

In conclusion, Although, paper books being replaced by ebooks has certain disadvantages such as lack of jobs and increased screen time, it also has certain positive impacts like it boost the reading habit due to easy access and it mitigate the need of cutting of trees by saving paper, hence improves the environment.