Sales companies should recruit people who are hungry for money as they will make the most dedicated workers.

Do you think money is the driving force behind hard work? What factors should be taken into consideration when recruiting staff for sales positions?

Recruiting a sales person is quite different from others. They require some abilities which might not be crucial for candidates applying for other department. Some believe that greed for money is required in a applicant for a sales job, while I suppose other factors should equal weight.

On the one hand, there are some grounds for the view that hunger for money is essential for the person applying in sales department. Firstly, annual appraisal cycle of a sales person consider the sales for annual increment. To gain big increment, a person would try to boost his or her sales. On the contrary if person is contended with the existing salary, would not even try to convince the customer. Secondly, urge for the money would insist a person to be an industrious one. For instance, financial gains received as a concession would work as a motivator for a salesman to work hard and sale more.

On the other hand, it seems to me that to be an effective sales person, some interpersonal skills and professional skills are required. Firstly, the individual should be persuasive and friendly. The ability to change people’s mind is one of the most important personal trait in the sales. For example, it is not possible that all the customers would be interested in the product or service a representative has to offer. The person should be able to approach customer from an angel that make sense. The sales person must have ability to make the customer think that he or she needs a specific product. Secondly, a salesperson must also be highly motivated. The person should be able to take initiative without any direction. For instance, a good salesperson would constantly think the ways to generate sales and get ahead. Even when the working hours have been completed, he will brainstorm ideas to make strategies. Thus, it is compelling for the person to be proactive and enthusiastic.

To conclude, although monetary benefit is one of the essentials for hard work and urge of money for a person is one of the criteria to hire sales man, I suppose other characteristics are equally important.