In the current world of modernization, the modes of recreation among the youngsters have been changed drastically as they are now more interested in spending their mean time by doing shopping rather than any other activity. This essay will discuss the reasons why younglings prefer shopping in their free time and provide options for encouraging to do activities other than shopping.

There are two major factors why young people tend to go for shopping in their spare time. Firstly, the westernization emerging from modernization has influenced the mind of new generation to a greater extent by developing a craze in their brains of looking extraordinary on regular basis, and to do so, they spend most of their leisure time in buying new clothes and accessories for themselves ignoring all other sources of entertainment. Secondly, new age group considers this activity to be very much effective in relaxing their mind after a regular hectic schedule. The reason behind this is that they feel energetic after seeing a variety of clothes with different colors because colors are capable of cheering up the mood of a person to a greater extent. That is why, the peer group are in favor of spending their free time while doing shopping.

However, I opine that the young people should be encouraged to take part in some other activities rather than shopping as there are innumerable sources of amusement such as playing outdoor games, conversing with friends and relatives, et cetera. Performing outdoor games will help them in betterment of their body whereas conversing with people will enhance their communication skills. Thus, young-lings should be encouraged to enter other entertaining sources also.

In conclusion, unless efforts are made to shift the youngsters' interest from shopping to other hobbies, this trend will only escalate.