Shopping is now one of the most popular forms of leisure activity in many countries for young adults. Why is this? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is true that youngsters prefer to go for shopping in their free time and it is becoming a famous hobby among them. There are numerous factors which contribute in this increasing trend of shopping like staying up to date and diversion from the worries of the life. Although shopping is gaining popularity among youth, but I assert that overall it is having adverse impact on both individuals and society.

Pitching into the first area of discussion, considering the reasons, why youth opt to shop in their ideal time rather than involving in other activities. The predominant reason is, in this modern era everybody wants to follow he latest fashion and try to have latest clothing and accessories . Because people who are update with equipment's are more accepted by society. Studies have shown that sales of fashionable apparel's has increased more than 200% from the last few years. Apart from this many individuals prefer shopping as stress buster. They claim that when they go for buying things, they enjoy their time and forget about all their work life pressure. Therefore shopping is gaining popularity in many parts of he world.

However, it has huge negative impacts. Many times when youngsters go for shopping they become extravagant and spend their hard earned money on the things which are not actually required. Whereas, they plough their earning for the future requirements. Moreover, young people these days are blindly following the fashion without giving a deep though whether it is wise decision to purchase the things which is not a necessity. People have to face peer pressure, who are not financially sound enough to spend so much, they feel down and neglected, which hampers their social life. Due to lack of equality community also divides into different groups and strength of unity will be missing.

In conclusion, unequivocally youth spend most of their spare time on shopping, but it has drawbacks. This world will be a better place if people lead simple life and opt to purchase things which are essential