SHOULD GOVERNMENT REGULATE THE FAST FOOD INDUSTRIES IN THE SAME WAY THAT REGULATES THE DRUG, ALCOHOL AND TOBACCO INDUSTRIES?

In this day and age, more and more contemporary attention has been placed on the opinion that authorities need to impose restrictions on the fast food industry as strictly as the tobacco, drug and alcohol industries. In my opinion, I completely disagree with this point of view for the reasons below.

Firstly, the consumption of fast food has been more and more increasing across the world among those who do not have quality time to prepare a meal for themselves. As a result, it provides a significant economic boost to a country by that enormous income. McDonald is a prime example, it is a food chain that have many stores being located in almost nations around the world, which receive over a million dollar of revenue each year. Thus, the junk food sector make a considerable contribution to not only economy but also society through tax payment and job opportunities when a fast food restaurant could create employmment for dozens or even hundreds of employees, from waiters and cashier.

Secondly, it is the fact that junk food is not as dangerous for consumers as tobacco, drug and alcohol. Fast food is likely to cause some diseases such as obesity and heart-related diseases, but those can be prevented by doing exercise regularly. Meanwhile, abuse of tobacco, drug and alcohol could make detrimental effects on both health and the stability of community. According to an article of Health Committee, people who overuse alcohol cause the majority of traffic accidents and place the third-rank of those who die because of cancer while the first one is cigarette users.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that the government should keep the fast food industry under less strict control than the other sectors including tobacco, drug and alcohol because of the aforementioned reasons.