Should parents allow their children to play similar TV programmes and computer games as their friends do

The question of letting children watch television shows and games similar to their friends is quite important in the present society. In my view, I would support the argument of not giving permission to children to do same as their friends because sometimes the values of both families are different and there ought to be check and balance on the activities of their children.

There are a great number of reasons to restrict children from copying their friends in regards to Tv and games. The most compelling one is that as the children of young age are minor and there are certain games and even television shows which includes violent content. This type of media and entertainment would provoke violence among children. In other words, children with such experiences are more likely to develope less tolerance which as a result built violent behavior. It is often reported that shooting games are mostly played opposite friends in a competition which creates a liking for even those who do not play it, as peer pressure from their classmates.

Another strong argument to consider is that every family has its own values to follow. It is a possibility that certain content is allowed to be watched at a friends home but it is not appropriate in one's house. For example, it is commonly observed that children are not allowed to watch age restricted content but there are certain families who allow their children to watch such shows as to promote confidence and knowledge. Resultantly, children should be monitored all the time to keep them attached to the values and should not be allowed to blindly watch and play anything because of their friends.

Given this argument, it is reasonable to conclude that allowing children to do the same activities as their friends would violate their norms and values and also to put them at a risk of learning violence and intolerance.