Should private schools receive government funding?

Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Private schools are those which are established and managed by a private trust. I will involve only K-12 schools under the purview of ‘schools’ in this argument. Children are the future of a country and the educational experience they receive from a young age goes a long way in shaping them. Every country has a mixture of government schools and private schools. I personally believe that private schools should not receive any funding from the government. I will buttress my point of view and give further suggestions in the following paragraphs.

It is a known fact that private educational institutions collect a larger fee from enrolled students when compared to government funded educational institutions. The fee collected not only goes towards maintenance of infrastructure, but also for the hiring of skilled teachers, who generally command higher salaries. The teacher to student ratio is lower in private educational institutions because their focus is to provide a one-on-one educational experience for their students. This leads to students grasping concepts better than if they were in a classroom with more number of children, which is the case in all government funded schools. The laboratories in private schools are well equipped with the latest instruments and give students a head start in observing various scientific phenomena.

The number of co-curricular and extra-curricular activities in private schools are innumerable in order to mould the children into well-rounded individuals. In addition to the traditional sports that are offered in government schools, private schools offer horse riding, swimming, tennis, hockey, ballet, music lessons, to name a few. These are taught by experienced professionals and on world standard courts for the respective sports.

In the United States, public schools are free to attend whereas private schools cost anywhere between $1,000 and $4,000 monthly per student, depending on the school management and location of the school. The children who go to government funded schools are generally from the middle class or lower. They cannot afford private school education and hence, miss out on many activities and a good overall educational experience. In light of this, I would go a step ahead and necessitate that private schools should offer a small portion of their budget to the government schools in their county. Governments can reward such social responsibility from private schools by providing them with better tax breaks. In this way, the money received from private schools can be utilized towards developing the infrastructure in government funded schools. This would result in a reduction in the gap between government school’s educational experience and that of a private one. The children graduating from both these types of schools will, more or less, be on equal footing when the time comes for them to join the workforce.

In conclusion, I would like to reiterate that private schools should not be privy to government funding because they are rich institutions with world-class facilities. These facilities enable the children to have a more well-balanced educational experience. However, with the long term effects of having a gulf of skills between private school educated children and government school educated children in mind, the government should require private schools to divert a small portion of their budget to government schools in order for the betterment of their infrastructure. They can reward these schools with tax incentives, among other things, should they opt to help government schools. Therefore, I believe that the long-term effect of private schools funding government schools is the creation of a more skilled workforce in a country and therefore, a better economy.