Should private schools receive governmental funding?

Two days ago, I read an article about who should finance private schools in Kazakhstan. Some teachers state that authorities should support them monetarily. However, some politicians argue that they should be excluded from the state financial maintenance. In this essay, I will discuss both points of view and agree with the idea of exclusion from public funding.

Let us start with the reasons why some teachers claim that officials ought to allocate money to private schools. The first reason is that it would allow many children from poor families to receive prestigious education in these colleges. Most children cannot afford to study in highly recognized schools, since they are prohibitively expensive, but if the government partly funded them, many children from disadvantaged households would be able to study there for free. Another reason is that it might enable these schools to modernize their equipment. Most private schools find it difficult to purchase the state-of-the-art technology, such as computers and digital blackboards, because they are extremely costly, but when authorities begin to finance them with extra money, they will be able to do it. Therefore, after analyzing these reasons, it is clear that private schools need governmental backing.

Nevertheless, some politicians argue that the government should not help this type of schools financially. They justify their opinion with the following arguments. Firstly, they can support themselves well enough. Private schools are capable to lead an autonomous existence, since they make plenty of families pay large tuition fees, which covers all their expenses. Secondly, the state budget does not have enough money to fund all schools. The government could not physically provide a sufficient amount of money to both public and private schools, as they also have to assist other spheres of social life apart from education, which require large sums of money to work properly as well. As a result, after considering these arguments, it is obvious that private schools should not rely on the authorities.

In conclusion, although some teachers think that officials should back private schools with money, I believe that they should completely count on themselves for the above mentioned arguments.