In some area of the US, a ‘curfew’ is imposed, in which teenagers are not allowed to be out of doors after a particular time at night unless they are accompanied by an adult.

What is your opinion on this?

Safety of the youth is of prime concerns in the current era. In a few selected areas in the US a curfew has been levied on the youth. According to some people this restriction is certainly justified however, according to others it is totally uncalled for. I am definitely f the opinion that this ban on the youngsters is totally justified as, it is not a total ban, but a partial ban. Wherein, a teenager is free to venture out at night along with an adult. In the following essay I will further validate my views with credible examples.

The most compelling reason according to me, for holding to my above mentioned view that teenagers need not go out late at night without a parent or guardian for their safety only. As in today’s times the escalating rate of nocturnal crime like pedophilia, knife-point mugging, unsafe sex, drug abuse and bacchanal parties which are particularly occurring in the darker, lonelier and desolate time of the night which are totally unsafe are influencing the youth in a bad way. Even if, the Police is patrolling they cannot assess, what is happening behind closed doors. For example, To resolve this problem government of California was among the first cities to claim curfew success, to publicly endorse the idea at the local high school. From there, this concept spread like wildfire and remain in place decades later.

Another valid reason in support of my stance, is the concern of the parents who have witnessed the amount of distress or suffering that a teenager goes through. Even for once, after having faced an ordeal in the form of molestation, date rape, mugging, stabbing. It may take ages, a lot of Rehabilitation, a lot of counselling to help the youth come out of spells of depression or agony of being violated for no obvious fault of theirs. For example, In the U.S., approximately 100,000 young people experience psychosis each year. So for parents who feel prevention is any day better than cure, moreover, they have highly appreciated this kind of reduction in the amount of menace on a regular basis

To encapsulate, I would further like to reinstate my faith in the judiciary as well as the parents who are coming up with such laws in today’s times expressing concern just to ensure and safeguard their precious children’s present and their future.