Some believe elderly people should live in nursing homes, others think they should live with the younger family members. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Certain things are inevitable in life; apparently, growing old too. In the last part of their life, people have to undergo several difficulties, right from financial struggle to health issues. People who once lived inindependently cannot resist depending on family members or nursing homes during in their 70s. Even though few argue that old people should live in nursing homes, I am convinced that, it is every family member’s responsibility to be a care-giver to elderly people.

Admittedly, living in a nursing home in unavoidable circumstances has some benefits. Firstly, nowadays, life has become busier than ever. To cater to one’s needs, he/she has to work round-the-clock, which eventually refrain them from spending time with elderly family members. Secondly, nursing home for crippled elders has essential facilities to render to their needs, whereas some people cannot afford to have these facilities in houses. Finally, nursing care centers have their own medical consultants to monitor people on a 24/7 basis, which keeps elderly people safer than being at home

However, elderly people expect the utmost care and affection from their family members. As per the statement, “Blood is thicker than water”, people’s instinct is to live in groups, especially with their family members. There should be a care-giver from a family for elderly people to give unconditional care, since after all everyone eventually will have to pass through old age sooner than later. Further, elderly people love to live with their grandchildren; similarly, children learn their conscience from their grandparents.

To recapitulate, in my point of view, I totally support senior citizens living with their younger family members. On the other hand, during unavoidable circumstances, staying at a nursing home is also safer.