Some believe that it is good having people with extremely high income in the country, while some think government should try to limit it. Discuss both view and give your opinion.

Earning gap between the rich and the poor has increased over the recent decades. Although some opine that governing bodies should put a cap over the individual’s earnings which exceed certain thrash-hold, I firmly believe that this approach would have severe consequence for the economy and might hurt public sentiments. This essay will shed light on both opinions and presents writer’s opinion at the end.

Two major categories of wealth generators in contemporary society are the celebrities, such as sports and film stars, and the entrepreneurs. While people often criticize that film stars are earning millions of dollars, there are only few actors who could reach to that stage and majority of others could not get even decent roles for many years. Beside this, there earning is usually linked to the value they add to the projects, as their movies are blockbusters on the box-office. Furthermore, entrepreneurs earn high income because of the value their products add to the society. For instance, because of the products, such as microwave-ovens, washing machines, vacuum cleaners, we have saved a lot of our time and effort already.

However, others believe that income should be caped so that equality could be maintained in the society. I totally disagree with that because if we limit the entrepreneur’s earning, they might stop investing their energy and wealth into the research and development of innovative ideas. This, in long term, is not only detrimental to the economy of the country, but also limits the problem solving products to the community. In addition, if government heavily taxes the celebrities’ incomes, people would lose interest in their favorite professions and might opt for the safer careers. Thus, it is clear that by limiting earnings, how society and country both will suffer.

To conclude, while it seems attractive to limit the earning potential of wealthy individuals of the society, thorough analyses proves that it would not be in the best interest of the people and country as a whole. We should continue to reward our risk takers, so that we can reap the benefits of their efforts in future.