In some cities and towns all over the world, the high volume of traffic is a problem.

What are the causes of this and what actions can be taken to solve this problem?

Traffic congestion has become a serious problem in many parts of the world nowadays. The truth is that traffic is caused by multiple factors; one of them is the lack of mass transit options. Despite this, government can tackle this issue which will be discussed in the following paragraphs.

The high volume of cars and trucks on the road has undoubtedly created a major problem in various cities worldwide. This problem arises because people tend to use their private vehicles when there is limited options on the public transportation. Moreover, this is worsened because mass transit generally covers limited area in the city, thus, commuters find it difficult to go to certain places by using public transport. As a result, people often find it cheaper and faster to reach their workplaces by using their own cars compared to, for example, taking interconnected buses.

This issue, fortunately, could be tackled easily if people are convinced to leave their cars at home. In order to do this, government needs to improve the public transport system by building more Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) facilities that cover wider areas in the city. Likewise, the road transport can be improved by increasing the number of buses and extending their network line to places which are not covered by MRT. If public are convinced that travelling by public facilities are cheaper and faster, therefore, they are most likely to change their preference methods on commuting.

To sum up, the fundamental cause of traffic problem lies on the limited options of public transportation, therefore, it is of utmost importance to provide general public with a good access to mass transit facilities.