Some companies sponsor sports as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good, while other thinks is has disadvantages to this. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

Sport is an important part of healthy life and nowadays it is connected to marketing strategies, most of the companies use as a tool in order to endorse their products. The majority of the population thinks that it is a great thing to increase particular products sells, boost stock values and overall revenue in terms of the company’s prospect. However, others believe that it has a tremendous drawback in relation to consumers. In my opinion, definitely, it will impose negative aspects that might affect general people.

A sport plays a vital role in everyone’s life; recent marketing trends are changing radically in the sports industry because it is used as a marketing medium to sell products or services. Most of the people love sports, they stimulated to buy products/services and the companies use this thing as a tool to promote their products by backing sports events. For example, IPL Cricket matches are one of the most famous game events in India, which is organized every year in the month of spring. Around 90% of Indian companies sponsor IPL matches and displays their products/services in order to boost their sales which ultimately increase their revenues and financial prospects.

On the other hand, sponsoring sports events will encourage people to purchase things which they rarely use in daily life. In this case, people who are interested in sports will spend a huge amount of money on things related to sports they love and those we can count as un-necessary expenditure. For instance, according to a survey reported by the BBC news regarding general population spending in one month of IPL matches in 2018. The results were pretty shocking as people spend around 40% extra money as compared to other months expenses on things, which are connected with the Cricket. They are buying those all just because it is endorsed by their favourite team or a player and all IPLL teams including players are sponsored by local or international firms.

In conclusion, sponsoring sports will definitely hike sports as well as company stocks. Nevertheless, in my opinion, it has too much downside in terms of the general public. It is simply a mind-diversion of people, which is encouraging them to buy services/products they really don’t need in daily life scenarios.