In some countries employees are generally given two weeks of paid vacation time each year. In other countries employers are given four or six weeks of paid vacation time.

Considering the need of both employee and employer, what do you think is a reasonable amount of paid vacation time for employees to have? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Employees are authorized to take time off under labour law. In some countries, two weeks of paid vacations are given to workers while others give four to six weeks paid time off. I think two weeks of paid vacations are enough from both employee & employer’s perspective.

Firstly, Annual vacations that employees get, are in addition to national & public holidays. On average, combining all national & public holidays totals to about four weeks of days off from work. Adding additional two weeks of annual leaves, these go up to six weeks each year. These days off from work are enough to fulfil employee’s needs.

Secondly, Employer pays salary to employee for days off. Employer pays not only for these two weeks but also four weeks of statutory holidays without getting any work in return. This burden of wages without any contribution is enough for employer. Some countries do give leaves of four or six weeks, it further increases burden of wages on employer and thus lowers profitability.

In some countries, workers are given four to six weeks of paid vacation time. They believe that more time off from work will help employee relax from day to day routine. It will help him in increasing efficiency but I disagree. According to one research, too much time away from job makes a person looses his/her focus and results in list complecency in work and thus less efficiency.

In today’s fast paced world, time is money. Taking four or six weeks away from job affects not only company’s profitability but economy as a whole.

Last year, I went on vacation to Thailand for twelve days. I was able to complete my wish list in just seven days. I tried to relax for remaining days but I got bored on 10th day.

In my opinion as well as from my experience, I think two weeks are enough vacation time. This not only keeps employee’s focus intact but also helps employer to maintain profitability. Higher profits means higher taxes, and thus whole economy becomes beneficiary.