In some countries, even though the rates of serious crimes are decreasing, people feel less safe than ever before.What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to

solve it?

Although the grievous crime rates are declining in some of the nations of the world, the citizens are feeling more insecure than before. This essay will suggest the main reason for this issue is that the fear of these severe crimes still exists in their minds, however, to tackle this problem the stringent measure would be an awareness campaign to educate them.

The primary reason for the people to feel less safe than before instead of the decrement of crime rates is that they are frightened of the occurrence of any sort of severe crime again. This is to say that when they are out with their family and friends, if they see tight security, unintentionally they try to avoid these places. As a result, the inner instinct makes them feel not safer than before even though these incidents are reducing. For example, it is reported that during the year 2018-2019, in Telanagana 75% of women were afraid to go out in the evenings because of 1 gang-rape incident in their region.

A long-term solution to the predicament is to launch an awareness campaign informing people that violent crimes have reduced. The concerned authorities especially the police department should assure the public by using media as their tool and make them aware that criminals are behind bars. Besides, they should show the masses that government officials are doing a lot to prevent major crimes in the nation. Hence these initiatives can remove the fear among the people of being not safer. In Japan, for instance, when a similar initiative was carried out the people were feeling more secure enough than before.

In conclusion, in spite of the major crimes getting decreased in some states, people are feeling quite unsafe when compared to before. The main reason is that these incidences have occupied their minds to a large extent and the most practical solution is educating them by launching public campaigns.