Local businesses like fast food eateries and grocery shops in some nations make donations to educational institutions in order for them to advertise their products. In as much as this move may have its drawbacks, I am of the opinion that its benefits outweighs the disadvantages. This essay will discuss why this is so.

Firstly, the funds received by these institutions of learning are being used to improve the infrastructures hence, they do not need to rely on the government in power to do basic things for the school. For instance, the renovation ongoing at the Suleja Government secondary school is as a result of the grant received by the school after they took part in and won the competition organized by the large retail shop in the community. The school was able to obtain new equipment for the science laboratory as well as rebuild its broken fence.

Furthermore, receiving promotional materials is not only beneficial to the industry but also to the school. These donations give room for educational talks and creating awareness which on the long run, results in a win-win situation. For example, the Dettol company gave promotional materials like antibacterial soaps and disinfectant solutions to the students. This increased the students' knowledge in reducing the spread of bacteria as they learnt the art hand washing at intervals for infection control. Also, spreading the news to their homes led to increased demand for the product and subsequently, massive revenue generation for the company.

In conclusion, schools receiving donations from local businesses as a way of advertising their goods is somewhat more beneficial than the negative sides to it. So, this in my opinion, should be encouraged.