In some countries, governments are encouraging industries and businesses

to move to regional areas outside the big cities.

Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Authorities in certain nations are motivating entrepreneurs to shift their factories and other businesses in various rural areas beyond the margin of metropolitan region. If asked, I strongly opine that the benefits of such trend attracts more benefits compared to any problem it might result.

To begin with, the foremost positive aspect of this trend would enhancement in the health of locals. Migrating companies to pastoral areas will control the seepage of chemical water into the ground, human beings can drink pure water. For instance, the health department of Delhi were able to control around 85% of water-borne diseases after migrating the chemical industries beyond the ring road.

In addition, it might also mitigate environmental pollution. Since the toxic gases emitted from those manufacturing units slumps, humans can enjoy the fresh atmosphere for inhaling. Shifting of textile mills, for example, from the central part of Ahmedabad has alleviated 50% of emission of carbon dioxide. This has been one of the reason for reduction of overall temperature of the city.

However, such trend might cause increase in the transportation cost of individuals. If the business premises has been located on the far end of the urban areas, not only the work force but also the entrepreneurs have to travel long distances to reach over there. This will be, ultimately, increasing the cost of transport. But the central can stimulate public transportation system to cut the fare of travellers.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that improvement in the human health and it’s surrounding by government policies fostering industrial and business hub on the outer parts of the megacity outweigh the negative aspect of rise in the cost of travelling to reach there.