In some countries, an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is, therefore, necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Fast food is gaining its popularity around the globe. Because of the consumption of these junk food, people’s health is detreating tremendously, these days. Some people argue that government should impose a higher tax on such food. I agree that increased tax will restrain people from having unhealthy food.

There are obvious advantage of levying heavy tax on fast foods. First of all, there will be a reduction in consumption of such unhealthy food when there is an increase in the price. People will be compelled to choose cheaper option, which is will fit in their budget. Secondly, now, the price of healthy food will be less than that of fast food, people will automatically prefer such kind of food. This will bring improvement in people’s health.

However, there are also some serious disadvantages of implementing a higher tax on fast food. To begin with, first and foremost, high food price will affect the ordinary people’s budget. Fast food is consumed, for instance, when a person is in a hurry and have less time to spend on ordering food at a restaurant. Under such circumstances it will be impossible for that person to choose from a menu and wait for half an hour for food. Fast food joints are convenient food as there are easy to get without wasting time waiting. So, it is understood that these instant foods are unavoidable under certain circumstances. This increase in the cost will adversely affect the common man’s budget.

To conclude, although it is argued that the implementation of tax on unhealthy fast food will have a negative impact on people’s budget, I completely agree that higher tax will warn people from continues consumption of such junk food.