In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

A segment of society now considers staying alone in many countries. In my opinion, this is an unfavorable situation, because it causing the problem of social isolation, and making people inefficient.

To embark upon, people who choose to live alone generally face the issue of loneliness. In other words, they do not have anybody to talk at home and have to take the day-to-day decisions on their own. Even on problematic days, they have to solve all the problems with the support of anybody else. This makes their life stressful and sometimes results in mental illnesses such as depression and anxiety. My friend, for instance, decided to stay alone and later on, he started to feel lonely at home, which caused several issues in his life and ultimately made him regret that decision.

Moreover, the decision of isolated stay also increases in inefficiency in people. Living with the family has many benefits as all family members share the household duties, which enable each to them to focus on their studies and office work comfortably. Nevertheless, solo living increases the pressure on a person as he has to do all the household chores himself, which consequently affects his education and employment. To be specific, they do not get enough time to concentrate on these vital areas, due to which, their productivity and performance get sacrificed.

In conclusion, many people these days indeed prefer to be alone at home, however, this is a detrimental development, as it is isolating people from society and making them unproductive.