In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In this modern age, people are heavily involved in their work life more than ever. A survey conducted by Time of India reported that, new generation chooses to live away from their family members, hence they travel to urban cities for studies and jobs opportunities. I believe it to be more of a positive development, but this also has few negative aspects to it.

Nowadays, young people has developed a mindset to move away from their parent to a different city to get the freedom to live thier life, the way they want and hence, they choose to studies or find job opportunities away from home. Consequently, this leaves them alone with no one to take care and they often feel lonely. For Instance, children who have dominating parents, often tend to apply to overseas institution for studies in order to get away from their parents. which results in they living in a foriegn country and feel home sick.

On the other hand, living alone encourages people to do their house hold work by themselves which help a person to become self depended. Example, a person staying alone has to do all the household work like cooking, washing dishes, cloths and taking care of his living space wheres . Therefore, he becomes more self depoended.