In some countries, schools are open till late so that children can be looked after when people are at work. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

In several nations, working parents prefer to send their children to day-boarding schools to provide better child care even in their absence. This essay suggests that although the academic environment and social group allows young people to develop as a better individual, its negative influence on the relationships with family as well as on the budget of parents can not be undermined.

One of the most prominent advantages of spending more time in schools is that it allows students to broaden their horizons of knowledge. As they tend to spend maximum productive hours under the supervision of professional teachers, they will gain a myriad of academic skills. Secondly, it helps children to become more social in their routine life. This is because the school environment provides cultural diversity that persuades learners to interact with peers. As a result, they inculcate various traits of life such as tolerance, well-behaviour, and kindness, which is beneficial for their holistic development. For example, many schools in Chandigarh offer day-boarding services to individuals to improve their social development due to the non-availability of guardians at home.

However, the expensive fees of such schools are the main concern for many people. While keeping children for a longer time in schools requires more staff, educational institutions often charge a heavy amount to provide these extra services. Another main drawback of longer hours schools is that they deprive children of parental love. That is to say, young people, who spend the majority of their time in school, hardly get time to mingle with parents. Therefore, it widens the gap between the parents and children due to a lack of family interaction. For instance, children studying for more than 8 hours in the school show less respect towards their parents because they lack family skills.

In conclusion, it can be stated that despite the pros of gaining academic momentum and imbibing life skills in day-to-evening schools, there are some cons related to the high cost and lack of coordination between parents and children.