In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Now-a-days, most of the high schools and universities have included a yearlong mandatory internship or educational trips in many developed countries. Although a section of mass accord with this idea, others strongly disagree with this idea. I will scrutinize both aspects in my further paragraphs before forming any opinion at the end.

On one side of the coin, many people support the idea of yearlong work or travel in college curriculum as it has many advantages. Firstly, students are exposed to professional life during their study if internship is must activity in their syllabus which actually help them to learn about office culture. As we all know that university life and professional life are different because students are exposed to a fix and known set of topics in university whereas in professional life we need to apply our leaning. Secondly, while travelling to other county for educational excursion, students develops self-confidence and communication skills which eventually help them to face tough environment in the future. For instance, in corporate world, professionals need to deliver many presentations in front of clients and my people face problem in delivering presentation due to fear and lack of communication.

On the other side of the coin, few people argue that life of a student is stressful as he need to focus on many topics at a time. Addition of yearlong work in a company or excursion to a place will make life of a student miserable rather than helpful. Moreover, this may be an overburden for their parents as excursion or travel to country involve additional cost.

To sum up, although internships and excursion will put extra pressure on student, the benefits from travelling to foreign country or working for a company for a year before completing university study are immense.