Some educationalist thinks that international exchange visit would benefit teenagers in the school To what extent do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages

It is important to consider whether international student exchange is favorable for the students or not. While some people think that it can help the students to become self-reliant and avail top-notch educational facilities, it can also expose them to cultural shock and language barriers. In my opinion, students moving to abroad for higher studies bring about more benefits compared to any drawbacks.

Admittedly, there exist some minor disadvantages when students decide to pursue further education in foreign countries. Firstly, some students might find it difficult to cope with the new culture. This is because cultural belief, traditions and customs vary from country to country, which might make it challenging for them to continue their study. A recent study in Cambridge University has reported that 30% of the students drop-out in the middle of their course due to inability to adapt to the new ways of life. Secondly, language acts as a second barrier for them on their pursuit of higher education. In other words, students have to familiarize themselves with the foreign language concurrently with the new culture; otherwise, it would negatively impact their academic performances. Fortunately, majority of the Universities have launched various programs so that the enrolled students do not have to undergo all these problems.

Nevertheless, despite having some avoidable issues, I think international student exchange provide the students with a plethora of benefits. The most obvious one is that it gives the student an opportunity to study in the world’s finest educational institutions. To clarify, meritorious and brilliant students from the developing countries would be able to enhance their skills under the guidance of the expert teachers on that field. This would grant them not only a better career prospects but also an opportunity to serve their countries as they could utilize such knowledge for the advancement of their nation. Another point to consider is that studying abroad would increase their confidence as well as helping them to overcome the obstacles in their life. To elaborate, although it feels quite intimidating to study in a foreign country, it removes the student from their comfort zone, which enables them to lead the life independently. Therefore, it is quite evident that studying abroad opens up doors to numerous opportunities for a student.

In conclusion, I wholeheartedly believe that global student exchange changes the life of a student in the best possible ways through boosting them with confidence and promising them a better career prospect which outweighs any and all negatives.