Various initiatives are being taken by the employers to keep their employees healthy and productive, whereas some employees think that such programs are not effective. We will discuss both sides in depth.

With increasing work pressure, employees have started feeling demotivated and are not able to use their potential to maximum. Companies are providing various recreational activities to their employees such as movie vouchers, gym, free holidays, and sports club membership to ensure that employees’ heath do not suffer due to work. Such subsidies help employees to cope up with their stress and produce maximum output. It is also important to maintain balance between work and life. Various perks like free family heath check-up and shopping vouchers are also provided as a gesture to take care of employees’ family members.

To measure the effectiveness of an initiative, company needs proper data. Problem with these leisure subsidies is that it can't be measured in quantitative parameters unlike other target-based work. On the other hand, not all the employees are motivated by these subsidies as all the employees have different expectations. Companies offer various on the job trainings, pay increments, and financial rewards to keep their employees productive. Some employers have also started day release program, so there can be change in the surroundings and at the same time, learning can also be done.

As per my opinion, these health-related subsidies are superficial and are not practically viable at large scale. Instead, companies should spend on trainings, so learning can be an ongoing process. Family floater health insurance cover can be provided to employees to ensure that they have proper medical provision in case of contingency.