Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The world has become a global village in the twenty-first century. People across the globe are connected via advanced linking modes like Facebook, Email, Twitter, Whatsapp and with many more internet applications. Therefore, language understanding is significantly important. Some people believe that it is better for children to start learning foreign languages at primary school rather than delaying it. Whereas, some refute this believe and think otherwise. I will discuss both points of views in order.

The advantages of adopting foreign languages in early schooling entail the following. Firstly, by understanding a variety of foreign languages would enable the children to enhance their expertise to understand and analyze the cultures and systems of other countries. Moreover, it would be easy for them to communicate with people around the world to extend their exposures. Secondly, it should be helpful for them while going for higher studies in renowned countries like USA, Canada, Australia and China. For Instance, English is considered to be the global language and is mostly used in studies around the world. It is, therefore, mandatory for children to start learning it from the very basic in the primary schools. If they want to attain a quality education.

On the other hand, disadvantages include the following. First of all, every child should understand his/her native language first and then look for other foreign languages. This is because he/she should gravitate towards his/her country's culture as he/she has to survive in it till the end. Furthermore, In most of the countries, the primary schooling have courses in native language than other foreign languages. Although, at a later stage in education, mostly schools tends to deviate and shifts to foreign languages like English.

In a nutshell, based on the analysis above, In my opinion, it is better for children to start learning foreign languages at primary level in order to compete with the outer world.