Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Although few pundits argue that a child has to learn a foreign language at primary school level, this is still debatable. We need to examine both sides of a coin such as the merits and demerits of studying a foreign language at primary school to derive a final conclusion.

The brownie points for people who believe that a new language needs to be learnt at school is that the children up-to age of seven are faster in picking up a language unknown to them. The process of learning language at a younger age will be quicker and easier. To illustrate, in a recent survey by ‘The National Herald’ quoted that, “The number of primary schools offering a foreign language to elect as a mandatory subject is seeing a phenomenal rise.” As is the case, it is always beneficial if the learning starts at an early age; learning language is no exception to this rule.

On the flip side, there are few disadvantages of learning foreign language at primary school. The students will be very young and they will still not be thorough with their first language. In such a scenario, expecting the child to learn another new language is definitely a greater ask. For instance, my neice who is just 8 years old has migrated from India to Germany and for her learning German has created a lot of confusion as to which language to speak where while her primary language is English. Therefore, there are few downsides of teaching foreign language at primary school level.

To conclude, with the globalization of the business market, it is for sure a long term benefit in teaching a foreign language to a kid at primary school level. Moreover, it will enable the child to concentrate more on major subjects at secondary school.