In some developing countries, it is difficult to get good teachers to work in rural areas which can have a negative impact on the education of children in those rural communities.

Why do you think good teachers do not want to work in rural areas in developing countries?

What could be done to solve this problem?

Few developing countries face difficulties to hire good teachers to work in rural educational institutions. This essay will discuss what are the causes of teachers adamant to work in rural areas and propose possible solutions to curb this problem.

To embark on, the cardinal factors for educational instructors hesitating to work in villages, an important one to consider is the low pay scale. This is because government offers basic salary in these places as revenue generation is very minimal, which results a dip in standard of living. In contrast, in prominent cities, private schools offer high compensation and better lifestyle attracts majority of the personnel. To combat this problem, government should provide equal pay to teachers irrespective of work location and who belong to the same cadre. As a result, it motivates them to grab the opportunities as working in rural areas provides more savings due to lower cost of living.

Another pressing problem for teaching faculty in working in rural educational set-up is the poor infrastructure facilities. Thus, it kills the interest in students to learn and in tutors to teach. For instance, it is reported in media that there is a significant fall in number of admissions in country side schools and colleges due to environment not being conducive for educational purpose. Dealing with issue involves government to invest a substantial amount in infrastructure development such as hi-tech classrooms, a good library, laboratories, and other facilities. Accordingly, more number of students will join and this will increase the teaching staff subsequently.

In conclusion, two of the vital causes for teachers hesitating to work in rural areas are low monthly income and bad facilities on offer. However, these problems should be minimized if government increases the salaries and invest in good infrastructure to encourage teaching and learning.