Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

To learn a language of some other country as a part of primary education curriculum is considered to be a good idea rather than learning it at secondary school level. Though, learning something complex like a new language late in the student life sounds prudent but doing that earlier has plethora of benefits.

To embark upon, soaking in the complexities of a foreign language might sound nerve wracking but is considered to be advantageous if done at a tender age. A lot of researches have proved, that, any activity, involving the use of the left cortex of the brain, like learning a foreign language, a sport etc. if done during early years of schooling prove to be life changing. Foreign language learning early in life increases the brain activity and improves the cognitive function as well as the problem solving ability. For instance, a program launched in the US famously known as the "Missouri" program turned out to be a huge success. Results included participating children performing beyond their abilities as they stood in the top 15% of all the participants. They not only learnt things, including a new language, faster but also fared extremely well in other subjects like arts, music and mathematics.

On the contrary, putting a lot of burden on children in primary school does not sound like an intelligent proposition. Also, a child in secondary school learns anything new or creative from a different perspective. In a country like India where school bags weigh more than the child, pressurizing a primary school goes to go an extra mile is gruesome. Moreover, a child in 10th or 11th standard is mature enough to absorb the nitty-gritties of a foreign language easily. Children at this age have a knack to identify patterns with ease, thereby, grasping anything swiftly. Also, in secondary school, pupils learn subjects that can be uninteresting for them. A foreign language can act as a creative outlet to rejuvenate themselves and keep their motivation levels up.,

In conclusion, reason to explore, improve, upgrade one's lingual ability in a new language during secondary school might sound convincing but doing it earlier definitely outperforms the former.