Some families have opted to teach their children at home. Why do you think this is?

In your opinion, do you think that all children should be taught in a school environment? Say why you think home-schooling would not be a good idea and also point out some benefits for this chosen form of education.

Education being a very essential part of every child’s life and is usually seen imparted in a school where other kids study too. But many parents now are choosing to teach children at their homes instead which is termed as home schooling. It’s a recent medium of education and a growing number of parents are opting for it.

There are various reasons to why parents choose to home school their kid. Some children suffer congenital diseases which make them unable to be in public places and thus are left with no other option. Next, it is very common for celebrities to home school their child to keep them away from the media and public’s eyes. Also, many a times parents choose home schooling as an option as their kid finds it difficult to catch up with other students and is a slow learner.

In my opinion, home schooling does not really serve as a good medium for education. It limits a child too much and does not allow expanding his/her vision. It also reduces human interaction which is very essential for a child in their formative years. The child misses out on many essential habits and personality traits like responsibility, empathy and friendliness. The disadvantages heavily weigh out on the advantages in this case.

All said, home schooling can sometimes be the only option left to opt for. Cases wherein the child is unable to leave his home, for example a kid suffering from paralysis or an allergy to places which are crowded and have people, the option seems great. It is also an alternative medium for students who want to study very limited subjects and are keen on excelling only those.

Conclusively, I believe that home schooling is an option to be chosen only in unavoidable situations. It is always very important and beneficial or a child to develop in all ways and be able to think with different perspectives. Home schooling does not guarantee an overall development which is the necessity of today’s times.