Some governments spend a lot of public money training up individuals to be successful in international sporting events. Some people believe that this money should be spent on things that will benefit the general public instead.To what extent do you agree

Popularity of sporting events has risen sharply in the recent years. Governments all around the world take extra measures to train their players. One section of people believes that, instead of spending money on the sporting events, the same can be spent for other developmental activities. It is disagreed with the opinion that less money to be spent on sporting events. This will be analysed by discussing about spending on health and sports.

Some people believe that spending on sporting events should be reduced. They argue that these freed resources can be used on more pressing issues such as health. Developing health infrastructure will further the cause of healthy nation. However, sports involve physical exercise and sports persons are very popular. Due to their popularity, more people start playing games and therefore creating a fit and healthier population. Hence, spending on the sporting events should not be reduced.

Nevertheless, spending on sporting events have several advantages. Firstly, winning in a major sporting event like Olympics or world cup will bring pride and honor to the nation. Moreover, developing sports infrastructure will give an opportunity to host major sporting events leading to tourism development. This will help the economy by attracting more foreign currency and revenue to the government. By analyzing the above points, it is evident that spending on sporting events is just and fair.

In conclusion, debate on how to spend the public money is still not yet resolved. One view is to spend more on developmental works like health. In contrast, others believe on spending adequate money on sporting events by developing sporting infrastructure. Upon considering both the views it evident that benefits of spending on sporting events outweigh the drawbacks.