Whether to teach mathematics at school or not has become a matter of debate among people. While some parents believe that teaching mathematics at school is irrelevant, other parents accept that it is an important subject. This essay will discuss both schools of thought comprehensively.

Nowadays, some parents think that mathematics has become an inessential subject to teach at schools. They have reason to believe so because mathematics is no longer a requirement and most of the computation can be done on the computers very efficiently. Through mathematical simulation, it is possible to solve unsolvable equations. A recent study suggests that there will be less demand to learn mathematics as advancement in technology will help people completing their tasks. All of these reasons led parents to believe that learning mathematics at school is not essential now.

In contrast to parents who wish to remove mathematics as a school subject are those who believe that it is a fundamental part of learning despite its usefulness. After all, children may learn language by hearing and mimicking it but, it requires a careful attempt to understand the counting in mathematics. James Brown, a professor in Mathematics at the University of Waterloo, claimed that learning mathematics is not a natural process rather it is memorization and by learning mathematics children develop perspectives related to the counting at their adolescence. For this reason, parents believe that mathematics should always be in the school curriculum no matter what other parents think about it.

Is studying mathematics in school still relevant? Removal of mathematics from school's syllabus may satisfy some parents as they feel it is irrelevant now but, also some parents think it is relevant and should always be in the curriculum. This essay discussed both of these schools of thought and their reasoning on whether to keep mathematics in the school curriculum or not.