Some parents buy their children a large number of toys to play with. What are the advantages and disadvantages for the child of having a large number of toys?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant example from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

Certain parents purchase a plethora of toys for their children to play. In this essay we will discuss both the merits and demerits of having excessive toys on a child.

Some parents have this notion that giving their children excessive toys will enhance their problem solving and learning skills as they will spend their time and knowledge in solving puzzles and problems. To elucidate, children playing crossword games aids in increasing English Vocabulary of children. Moreover, children learn to share their games with their friends and thus reduce fighting and conflicts. It also helps in nurturing the creativity and imagination in children. To exemplify, games like painting and art and craft encourages children to draw and colour drawings. Additionally, toys assist in improving fine and gross motors skills of children. They learn to run, swim, jump and grasping things.

Despite of the advantages there are few disadvantages associate with giving too many toys to children. Parents spending money indiscriminately in purchasing toys will impart the same knowledge to their children. They will not give importance to not only the hard-earned money but also they toys they have. This will spoil the overall personality and behaviour of children. Furthermore, children spending too much time in playing games will not pay attention to their studies and school work thus hampering their future.

To conclude, In this essay we have discussed that giving innumerable toys to children although will help in their cognitive development and learning skills, but it will also have negative effects on their education and they will not value for money