Some people believe the aim of university education is to help graduates get better jobs. Others believe there are much wider benefits of university education for both individuals and society.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different perspectives concerning the goal of university education. While it is sometimes thought that it prepares graduates for better employment, I am inclined to believe that it has vast advantages for both individuals and the community.

One the one hand, there are two principal reasons why some people may claim that tertiary education can assist people to get well-paid jobs. First and foremost, it arms students with the knowledge and skills needed by the job market. In other words, if they were not equipped with these skills which are demanded by the market, they would hold less chance to become high-paid employees. A second cause is that graduate degree holders may have a better opportunity of promotion. For example, the majority of companies take the educational level as a factor for higher positions promotion.

One the other hand, I would side with those who believe that universities offer enormous individual and societal benefits. Initially, by pursuing higher studies, people learn to be more responsible and self-dependent. This is because of the prohibitively high tuition fees, leading students to work part-time in order to pay these fees. An additional point is that university education can result in economic growth. That is to say, the more educated and skilled people the country has, the more investment it can pour into its economy. For instance, the gigantic IT companies invested billions of dollars in India due to the abundance of IT graduates there.

In conclusion, despite the better employment and promotion an individual can gain from tertiary education, I hold the notion that it has broad advantages to both individuals and society because it can help individuals to become self-reliant and can boost the economy. For the prosperity of the nation, It is hoped that authorities encourage youth to pursue a university education.