The role of being either talented or industrious in achieving success in the field of sport has been the topic of many thoughts and discussions around the world. While some people believe that innate abilities take more imperative part when it comes to being successful athlete, others think that tenacity and determination play more significant role. I personally believe that inborn talents cannot make someone obtain athletic goals unless they are honed efficiently.

As a matter of fact, athletic performance varies according to people’s physical traits, skills, and experiences. Naturally, it may seem that people with special athletic gifts are more likely to be successfully progressed in different fields of sport. For example, tall youngsters have specialized body for playing basketball or having shorter legs and longer arms may help swimmers to be faster. Thus, being athletically gifted can provide people with more favorable conditions to gain their objectives.

On the other hand, it is widely believed that the key factor in achieving any kind of success is the concerted effort that people make and becoming brilliant sportsperson is no exception. As many famous, successful athletes emphasize, athletic accomplishments are not achieved by only athletes who have extraordinary genetic traits, but by the ones who constantly strive and have determination and perseverance to acquire all skills to gain their goals despite all the limitations and challenges that they may confront with. Take the Paralympics’ medalists who achieve remarkable results in spite of their physical disabilities as example.

To conclude, although it may seem that athletic success heavily depends on the natural abilities that people have, being determined and dedicated has more significant role. In other word, relying on talents cannot bring thriving success for people, but with making honest endeavor people can prevail over any obstacles including not having God-given talents for being an athlete.