Some people believe that the best way to learn a new language is to immerse oneself in the language and culture by living in a country where the language is spoken. Others argue that it is possible to learn a language effectively through self-study and language courses in one's home country. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Learning a new skill requires a lot of consistent practice. This is more so true for acquiring a new language. The general consensus among people tends to split when it comes to learning a new language. Some people hold the opinion that the new language can be effectively learned by self -study and joining numerous language courses while remaining in one’s native country. On the other hand, another group of people consider migration to another country and getting acquainted with the new culture as the ultimate way to master the spoken language of that country. While both of the views are correct, the singular superiority of either one of them over the other needs to be evaluated from a logical and practical perspective.

Those who claim that living in a country is the best way to learn the language spoken in that country hold solid ground in some critical respect. First of all, person-to-person interaction on a regular basis is essential to learning a new language. By living in a country, it becomes easier for an individual to communicate to the native public since face-to-face meetings with the people speaking a particular language improves speed of learning the language. This is also backed up by the scientific research. The non-verbal cues assist in gaining mastery over a new language. Moreover, by constantly talking in a particular language during the interactions with the local public one’s ability to retain the language improves because such communication reinforces memory over and over again. Similarly, by living in a country and learning its language, one gets a wide-ranging perspective on the culture of the country, the various local words and phrases used by public, local dialects, tone and pronunciation. However, this may not always be the best way to learn a new language.

The alternative common view that language can be learned by living in one’s own country and joining various language courses is also true to a great extent. Migration to another country is not always a preferred choice by people since migration involves lots of hardships and multiple adjustments to one’s lifestyle. With the plethora of online courses now available over the internet one can learn a new language from the comfort of their own location and suitable time. There are several online quizzes available to test one’s skill level in a particular language and do self-study. These tests and quizzes help one to track learning progress. In addition, there are a number of agencies and institutes offering language courses for people. These courses are oftentimes self-paced and very well designed such that they offer basic to advanced levels of modules in a step-by-step learning mode. This helps one to gauge one’s language ability at each stage of learning process. With a large number of assessment tests and certification of language learning that one gets out of these courses, one can be sure of one’s proficiency in a particular language. This mode is also more cost effective in comparison to migration and then learning a new language. This method is also well structured unlike haphazard ways to learn language by guessing cues after coming to a non-native country.

In summary, both the views are somewhat correct in acquiring a new language but neither of them is perfect. There are pros and cons associated with each of the two methods of learning a new language. Therefore, the best way to learn a new language should be to use a combination of the two methods. One should focus on online courses and self-study at the earlier stages and achieve an intermediate degree of proficiency in a language. After this gets done, one should take tours of the country in which the language is spoken and get into complexities of the language by blending in with the culture and people of that country. This way one can learn a new language effectively.