Leisure time usually refers to the free time children get mostly after their school, homework and sports practice is complete. Leisure time activities are as important as any other activities in children's lives. The way a child spends this time plays a great role in his/her individual growth and self improvement.

I do not believe that non-educational activities done during leisure time is a waste of that time. Education is the basis of knowledge in an individual's life but there are many other skills and activities that contribute to the development of a child's mind. A huge role is played by the things a child chooses to do during the free time given. In today's date, when there are so many career options and it is not necessary to be good at academics to be successful in life, it is very important that freedom to do what children like to do during their free time is given.

Some people believe that leisure time activities should be educational while some seem to disagree. In my opinion, whatever a child wants to do in the free time should be his/her individual choice as these activities help children identify their hobbies and interests. Leisure activities should not be categorized as educational or non-educational as long as they are helping in child's self improvement and boosting curiosity. Productivity is a factor that should be given more importance here as academic subjects are anyway studies by all students. However, adults must make sure that children are not getting involved in any bad habits or violence or any inappropriate activity that may hamper their positive growth.