Some people believe that children under age 10 should be given their own interest subject, while others believe that should be given regular subjects. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

Interest is one of the major factor that needs to be taken into consideration while discussing about education. We all are obliged on providing our younger generation a good quality primary education. There are a group of people who suggest that the students under the age of 10 should also be provided an option to select their preferred subjects similar to that of older students. However, there are group of people who agrees with the idea of regular subjects and think that it's more beneficial for the children. This essay agrees with the latter and will discuss both view in detail.

Primarily, the mental growth of the younger ones are not fully developed at the age of 10 to decide about their career. The group who suggest children selecting their interested subject often think that, it will help the student do well in the selected subjects and will help them in achieving an interesting career. Even though the aforementioned is true in case of an adult, it is not the same with the younger ones. Considering that the likes and dislikes of children change sporadically, it is not a good idea to let them decide about the future at an early stage.

Secondly, the children should have a better idea of the opportunities that lie in front of them, then only they can pace their future accordingly. It's very important for the younger ones to have a depth knowledge of the options they have, so that they can choose their interest accurately. The role of regular subjects come here, as the students go through the regular study pattern, they will be able to identify their interesting subject and can focus on that later. Initially providing options means we are restricting the various opportunities for children.

To recapitulate, the mental growth of a 10 year won't be developed enough to decide about his future, other than that it's very important for the students to have a clear idea about the opportunities that lie in front of them. The regular subjects provide the children with a better idea regarding the opportunities and also provide them the time to decide on how to pace their life.