Traffic congestion has been a long term issue of many metropolitan cities across the globe. To cope up with this problem, some city planners came to realize that adding more new lanes to already built ones is the most efficient measure while others reckoned on building subway and metro as the best way to go. I am of the opinion that expending fund on widening the road can be a short-term solution, but constructing train and metro is far better measure.

To begin with. Increasing the number of roads has been an accepted belief among city designers as a highly effective method of addressing the problem. Although, it cut the traffic intensity of roads for short time, it spurs people to use more individual vehicles on highways. The roads would soon be filled with thousands of cars not long after being expanded. Because people's driving decision change as they realize there is no traffic clogging and congestion charge to concern them. To illustrate, consider the situation when people know they can save some money by doing a purchase from the store which is some blocks away. If they assume there will be a terrible traffic and it will take long to get there, they will buy it at a closer store. However, if they know new roads get added to the highway where there is no traffic jam and congestion charge, they will drive that far.

According to aforementioned explanations, wider roads have a short term effect which makes city planners think of other infrastructures like train and metro system. The invaluable system that could level off the traffic volume and reaches an equilibrium over time. Train and metro not only transport thousands of people but also save people's precious time. So they no longer need to wait in intersections when the traffic light is red or get stuck in traffic jam. They also have their own route which minimize collision which provide more safe and reliable journey than the roads. Moreover, they relieve the overcrowding of cars on freeways.

Overall, although adding new capacities to the exciting roads is beneficial for short period, train and metro are considered as more long lasting network in reducing volume of traffic. Therefore, it's more advisable for the government to invest the money on metro and train.