Some people believe that people who read books can develop more imagination and language skills than those who prefer to watch TV. Do you agree or disagree?

While some people think that reading books rather than watching TV is more beneficial for one’s imagination and language acquisition, I content that the role of the former in boosting intelligence and language ability is equal to the latter. One the one hand, books are instrumental in enhancing children’s imagination and development. A kid reading a fairly tale with illustration will have to think, fantasize and use their creativeness to comprehend ideas and reasoning, which in turn sharpen their mental skills. Moreover, reading books helps to improve language skills. Spending time reading a book which is not written in our mother tongue leads to the development of a strong language base referring to its vocabulary, or comprehending meaning of a word in different contexts. Besides, reading out a book for children is also an effective way to help them improve their communication skill, which is greatly stimulated as the kids grab a spoken word and use it in daily conversations. On the other hand, watching TV is considered an important activity as reading in order to cultivate one’s imaginativeness regarding its characteristics of programs. Firstly, when audiences watch a tourism channel for example, they are exposed to a wide range of knowledge by seizing images of worldwide landscapes or feel tastes of specialties in various geographical regions. The broadcasting of quiz shows serves as an efficient learning tool for both children and adults who prefer taking challenges which involve critical thinking. Secondly, the role of TV in boosting linguistic competence is pivotal. Recent English programs not only support audience to remember words easily by associating them with vivid images shown on the screen but catch their constant attention with entertaining aspects. In conclusion, while the benefits of reading are undeniable, they cannot outweigh the role of TV in enhancing a person’s imaginativeness and language skills.