Many people hold the belief that success in sports is derived from mental toughness, while others think physical toughness is the key. Personally, I believe that physical fitness is just as important as mental toughness in determining sporting success.

Physical strength has been commonly regarded as an important element in sports. Firstly, muscular strength and key skills such as stamina, flexibility and agility could enhance the ability to perform general sport skills such as jumping or sprinting in the majority of sports. Competitive soccer players, for example, have to brute strength so as not to be burn out during a match or to counter-attack quickly so that the opponents do not retreat on time to defend. Secondly, most elite sportsmen are very cautious and well-prepared in exercising and eating to build muscle. The reason is that physical toughness could help them avoid being injured; or else; the sporting career would be ruined by injuries.

A strong mentality, on the other hand, is also important for any sports professionals to be successful. It is observed that, sport stars often face tremendous stress and setbacks, which in turn results in mental health problems even life-death situations. Therefore, only strong-willed players who are able to overcome those problems would attain great success. Many elite sportsmen like Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo devote themselves to willpower and mental preparation to gain confidence and self-esteem to deal with every challenging situations while others might succumb. Moreover, mental power is responsible for building up resistance to boredom, tiredness and keep players motivated while their body is suffering from fatigue.

From these above mentioned reasons, the conclusion can be drawn that each type of strength has its own perks. Physical strength gives players a constant energy boost, while mental ones help them deal with all obstacles in determining sporting succes.