Some people believe that teaching children at home is best for a child’s development while others think that it is important for children to go to school. Discuss the advantages of both methods and give your own opinion.

There is a debate about children’s education, some believe that it is best to home-school, while others believe that receiving education in a traditional way at the school is more effective for a child’s development. Both points of view are valid, and in this essay I will discuss both opinions and conclude with my own.

Teaching at home can be very effective for a child’s development. Every child is unique and requires a personalized approach to get the most out of education. Homeschooling programs can be customized and allow a child to learn at their own pace. Moreover, this method is great way to deliver education for children in remote areas and places where schools are not available. For instance, the mainstream of computers and the Internet makes teaching at home very accessible. Therefore, flexibility of homeschooling can be very beneficial for some pupils.

On the other hand, many studies concluded on importance of social interactions for development of a child. Many scientists believe that emotional intelligence play far more important role in one’s success, which can be developed by constant interaction with other people. Such environment can only be arranged in schools; a home-schooled child will have limited social circle as he or she will mainly engage with family members and maybe some neighbors. In addition, pupils learn better in group settings. Classroom discussions, presentations and knowledge sharing are vital in developing skills like critical thinking, analysis and problem solving. Settings that traditional schooling provide are unique and cannot be replaced easily and, in general, suit most of children.

Given the aforementioned reasons the advantages of teaching at school outweigh the advantages of homeschooling. In my opinion, traditional teaching methods are more suitable in the majority of cases, however, there are some cases where a child requires homeschooling.