Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic. What are he benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Travelling has changed in the last few decades. Nowadays more and more people prefer extraordinary travel destinations like the Sahara desert or the Antarctic. This essay will discuss advantages and disadvantages of visiting such places with difficult conditions.

Globalization and technologies made travelling mainstream and available for the majority of the population. Therefore, people started looking for alternative non-touristic destinations. The benefits of travelling to such places are tremendous. Firstly, by visiting unconventional destinations tourists can get to know other cultures and gain a different perspective. For instance, by visiting the Antarctic one can experience firsthand the effect of climate change. A tourist can also contribute to local economies due to the fact that, in general, such locations do not have developed economies and are not commonly visited by others. For example, by visiting a remote village in Myanmar, one can help out local community financially by buying a handmade craftwork or staying at their accommodation.

On the other hand, it is not very safe to visit such remote locations. As one’s immune system is not accustomed to the bacteria particular to that area, it is very easy for one to get sick. Usually hospitals or places where proper aid can be provided are not available there. Moreover, such places are not for people looking for convenience and comfort because it is unlikely you will be staying in a comfortable hotel with all the amenities and facilities.

Overall, one can gain an extraordinary and unforgettable experience by travelling to uncommon destinations, however, one should be more cautious and ready for discomfort.