Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. others. however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The perspective to which people expect punishment should be measured towards a committed crime divers. These perspective are categorized into two broad class which entails firstly, same penalty for committed crime, and secondly, taking into consideration, the motivation and condition at which the crime is executed before the decision for its punishment is taken. I'd opined to the fact that careful consideration of the account and motivation of how the crime was conducted is the better option.

The punishment being metted on criminals on most occasion as not been severe enough when compared to the pains of victims of such occurrence. Taking for instance, murder case have a generally known punishment which is death sentence. Mostly, the manner or way in which the murder act was parpetrated are mostly not taken into account before such sentence. Most victims are made to go through unhumane torture before their life is taken in the custody of their criminal.

Meanwhile, taking into full consideration the circumstances and compelling factors which warrant a criminal act is required before a punishment is made. The pains being suffered emotionally, physically by a raped woman is inestimable whereas the culprit already enjoyed his ill act and maybe go un-noticed. In India, a similar case was metted with 150 lashes on the buttock of a rapist publicly and also sentenced to 10 years jail term. This i believe is a proper way to effect punishment on criminals, as this will help teach potential criminals a lesson.

It is my opinion that the condition and motivation around a crime should be taken into consideration before a punishment is made and not have same punishment for each type of crime being committed.