Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that circumstances of an individual crime, a motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment

Discuss both the view and give your own opinion.

At the present time, there is an endless controversy about appropriate rules and punishments or criminals. While some people state that they should punish offenders differently for each type of crimes, others argue that the situations of committing crimes need to be considered. Hence, this essay will discuss both views before providing an personal opinion.

On the one hand, due to the increase of crimes rate, many people claim that offences should be classifies into categories and have different levels of punishments. In this case, courts will work faster because judges do not need much time to decide the suitable punishments to the culprits as it have been already decided for them. However, this is obviously an unjustified practice since the robbery of a convenient store may receive the same castigation as the ones who rob a bank.

On the other hand, it is cited the punishment system should be more flexible as in many circumstances, the culprit is not the real wrongdoer, For instance, maybe a killer is just a victim and she ( or he ) is just self-defence to get risk of an assault from others. Moreover, the courts will work more efficient and justified as people are convicted fairly in all aspects.

To conclude, although making a fixed punishment system may useful in some extent, I still believe that the most appropriate verdict is only made when the judge consider carefully in all side of a crimes.