Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

t has been argued that community volunteer work should be a requirement in secondary school curriculums. Although this concept has some benefits, I am of the opinion that it is not a realistic option.

It is true that compulsory volunteer work would have some advantages. First of all, requiring young people to become more active members of their community at a young age would help them learn how the less fortunate in their local area live. If young people can work as part of a charity or interact with the poorer members of their community, they will develop empathy for those who are less fortunate. Secondly, working outside the school would teach them practical skills that would be of use in adult life. The reality is most subjects that are taught in school are never needed after graduation. In contrast, community service is an education that is relevant for the long term.

However, there are practical reasons why community service is unworkable. Firstly, it is likely that there would not be enough useful jobs for the young people to do. There is a limited number of volunteers that any charity, neighbourhood or sporting group needs, so the supply of volunteers would be too great. In addition, the behaviour of many high school students would undoubtedly be a problem. There are nightmare students in every class and to force them upon community organisations and charities would be a recipe for disaster.

In conclusion, while there are some commendable aspects associated with the idea of mandatory community service for high school students, I believe that in the real world this program is unworkable and not based in reality. [Collected]