Using a computer every day can have more negative than positive effects on young children.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Computer has become an integral part of our life and little kids are more interested to use it for various purposes. Daily computer usage for educational purpose has important impact on young mind but wasting time by playing video games is not positive at all. In my opinion, for effective purposes, regular computer usage is positive but it has opposite effects as well.

Primarily, at present, educational software is available for better child education and by running it on PC, it is easier for a little boy or girl to learn it properly. As an example, if a parent wants to teach their offspring alphabets, he/she just runs the CD of it. The lessons are designed so attractively that the little young fellow loves to watch it regularly. Not only this, after certain age, the kids have the opportunity to browse internet where they are able to get more learning items. For instance, on Youtube, educational cartoons are very interesting to watch. So, to learn all these things everyday computer usage is very encouraging and its’ effects are very positive.

On contrary, negative effects of frequent computer usage depends on its’ purposes. If a young boy or girl uses computer to play video games only, then it can be harmful. Because it not only wastes their time, but also it sometimes hampers proper mental growth. For example, playing war based games all the time, a child can think that if he/she can kill, everyone will give respect. For this reason, ensuring proper purpose of daily usage of computer is necessary to minimize negative effects.

In conclusion, everyday computer usage have more positive effects than negative effects, though it is a moot point. For educational purpose, it has good impact but for other activities, i.e. playing games, may have some drawbacks. But, I think parents can contribute a lot in this regard by ensuring effective utilization of this modern machine.