Using a computer every day can have more negative than positive effects on young children.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Prolonged use of computers can have more negative effects on children. I completely agree with this opinion and in this essay, I will state the reasons for my view.

While computers can improve our knowledge, there may be several side effects on children when computers are used more than 7 hours daily. Firstly, using computers would require children to sit in one place for a long time. This can cause stagnation of blood flows and may expose children to risks pertaining to physical well-being. To exemplify, long exposure to LED-screens may cause myopic vision and lack of muscle movements can cause obesity. Such effects could be destructive as children are in their formative years. Any adverse impact on their health will last long and be brought into adulthood.

Secondly, over exposure to computers might have profound negative effect is on children’s social skills. Using computers every day could keep them immersed into the colorful and dynamic virtual world. As a result, children may lose interest in the real world around them. This means that there could be lack of conversations with teachers, friends and family members; causing absence meaningful human relationships in their lives. This phenomenon can cause loneliness and depression at a tender age.

Lastly, overexposure to computers may limit development of overall personality and character in young children. Children may easily get addicted to computers and could give up their time for other important activities that are part of growing up. For instance, developing motor skills or picking up a sport or playing music. As a consequence, children may lack imbuing life skills.

In conclusion, using computers everyday over a certain period of time, affects development of physical, social as well as cognitive abilities of young children. Given the situation, it is imperative for all parents to closely monitoring their children’s computer usage.