Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, advertising has the power to sell anything, irrespective of how useful the product is in reality. I completely agree with this statement and in this essay, I will state the reasons for my view.

The most compelling reason for my view is that, display of commercials has proliferated everywhere. For instance, television programs, billboards, magazines, public spaces, radio shows are full of commercials that garb our attention and engage us through variety of medium. Additionally, such advertisements try to repetitively influence our thoughts with notion of particular product being useful and available at fair price and everyone in society using them. Consequently, people start believing the commercials and buy products due to constant brain-washing.

Another reason for modern advertising to be successful is could be due to use of cinematics and dramatization that appeals the emotions of the consumers. For example, advertising of baby diapers presenting a smiling cute baby and a caring mother. Commercials tend to project the models and actors using their products as the ideal version of what people aspire to be. To illustrate, an advertisement promoting a deodorant that attracts women. As a result, people buy those products because advertisement can convince people that using their product would enable them to achieve their desired social status, regardless of any other factors.

In conclusion, I completely agree that modern day advertising is used by companies to target psychological needs of consumers and not the real need of society. It is recommended, that everyone should be cognizant about practicality and utility of the products and not get influenced by false advertisement.