Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world.

Do you think this is positive or negative development ?

4:06

Nowadays most products are available in every country around the world due to globalization. While this has standardized qualities of consumer goods, it has also reduced the novelty a region has to offer from its locally produced goods. This is a negative trend and in this essay, I will state the reasons for my view.

The most compelling reason for my view is the loss of cultural identity and taste of the people that occur due to standardization. Every country has a unique culture that is reflected in the products that are produced using locally sourced materials. However, when goods are mass produced, the focus is not on preserving the intrinsic attributes of the materials but on adjusting the experience that suits to a large number of consumers. In this process , the qualities that make the products stand out due its orgin are lost. As a result, many people to have adjust their tastes and the product quality is compromised too.

Another reason for my view is that consumers may have to pay higher prices at the same time there are less choices of products available in market. Multi-national companies expand their businesses in new markets taking advantage of the economies of scale; giving competion to the small companies that eventually cease their operations. Market penetrate of such products is follwed by increase the price due to lack of competion. As a result, eventually the consumer have to pay a higher price for the product, with limited options to choose from.

In conclusion, the availability of mass produced goods everywhere has caused many local business to cease due to competition; consumers not only have pay more but also adjust their tastes. As many countries are loosing their distinctive attributes due to use of mass produce goods from elsewhere. It is imperative to maintain the variety and eccentric qualities that make the countries stand out from one another.