Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel or to work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

While learning a new language could be an interesting experience for some people, there are others who would only do it under the conditions of overseas work assignments or if they are visiting a new country. Although, both views are commonly held in society, in my opinion learning a new language is unconditionally beneficial.

On one side of argument, there are people who prefer to learn a foreign language, only if they foresee a situation that challenges their ability to communicate. For instance, if they have found a job or want to attend a business meeting in a different country; as the time & efforts involved in learning a new language can be justified with an associated economic benefit. Furthermore, some people are willing to learn a new language only as part of their tourist expedition to a foreign country, as it would help them to navigate or hunt for souvenirs while they are travelling. Such benefits play the role of motivators or reasons, without which some people may be reluctant to shift towards another language.

On another side of argument, there are people who do not require any specific motivation, as learning a new language can be an enriching experience in itself. For instance, the ability to understand another language can expose a person to a new variety of literature in form of books and entertainment in form movies. Additionally, learning a foreign language can enable us to communicate with a large number people via internet and make virtual friends. Consequently, creative ideas can be shared within artistic and scientific communities from different countries without crossing the borders.

In conclusion, the benefits of learning a new language go beyond tourism and economic gains. Learning new language not only gives a better understanding of a new culture but also enables access to information apart from one’s native language. It is recommended, that everyone should learn at least one foreign language.